ITN scoops Six RTS Awards

ITN scooped six gongs at the Royal Television Society journalism awards including the coveted News Programme of the Year for ITV News’ flagship bulletin, News at Ten.

ITV News and Channel 4 News picked up three awards each in total, with ITV News also winning recognition for its international coverage of the Haiti earthquake. Gary Gibbon, Channel 4 News’ political editor, won specialist journalist of the year, and ITV News Rohit Kachroo was named young journalist of the year.

John Hardie, Chief Executive of ITN, said: “To win so many RTS Journalism awards is a welcome recognition that ITN is right at the top of its game. Such an unrivalled crop is testament to the skill and dedication of our people and the consistent support from our partners at ITV and Channel 4.”

The full list of ITN awards were as follows:

Young Journalist of the Year: Rohit Kachroo

ITV News

News Coverage – International: ITV News coverage of the Haiti Earthquake

Presenter of the Year: Jon Snow – Channel 4 News

The Independent Award: Baby Landina – Inigo Gilmore, Channel 4 News

News Programme of the Year: ITV News at Ten

Specialist Journalist: Gary Gibbon – Channel 4 News

Additionally, ITN shared the Judges’ Award with Sky and the BBC for the three pioneering leaders debates which broadcast in the run-up to last May’s General Election. Judges applauded, “a genuinely historic agreement.”

The Royal Television Society journalism awards were presented by Channel 4 News presenter Krishnan Guru- Murthy.

Back to All Press Releases